Saturday, 21st May was another special day in the life of the Diocese, when four men from our Diocese were admitted as Candidates for the permanent diaconate. Candidacy is the last step before Ordination and an important milestone in their formation. The four men are Anthony Carey (Teignmouth), Tim van Kroonenburg (Newton Abbot), Lester Yeo (Crediton) and Kelvin Russell (Exeter).

Please God, they will be ordained as Deacons for the Diocese on Saturday, 1st October at 11am in the Cathedral.

The celebration was also marked by the deacons present renewing their own commitment to diaconal service in the Diocese. In his homily, Bishop Mark took up the theme of the day’s bible readings on the virtue of humility in the ministry of service and the necessity of service always being rooted in prayer and especially in devotion to the Eucharist.